Vier Heemskinderenbrug Location
It is located on the western quay of the Herengracht and leads over the Leidsegracht. One of the nearby monuments Herengracht 394 has a gable stone under the middle window on the first floor with the Vier Heemskinderen on horseback, the namesake of this bridge. There has been a bridge here for centuries. Daniël Stalpaert drew a bridge over the Leydesche graft in the quay of the Heere graft on his map of 1662. The question is whether the bridge was already there at that time as the area south of the Leidsegracht was still then undeveloped. The bridge on the western quay of the Herengracht, leading over the Leidsegracht, is an impressive structure. It is a historic landmark that has stood the test of time. One cannot help but admire the gable stone under the middle window on the first floor of Herengracht 394. This piece of art depicts the Vier Heemskinderen on horseback, and it is this depiction that gives the bridge its name. For as long as anyone can remember, there has always been a bridge in this spot. In fact, even in the 17th century, the renowned cartographer Daniël Stalpaert included a bridge over the Leydesche graft in his map of 1662. However, there is some speculation as to whether the bridge existed prior to that time, considering the undeveloped nature of the area south of the Leidsegracht. Regardless, the bridge remains a symbol of the rich history and architectural beauty of this neighborhood.